2009nhlallstar_logoBOSTON — The Boston Bruins were shut out by the fan vote for starters for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game, but today they more than made up for it.

Goaltender Tim Thomas, center Marc Savard and defenseman Zdeno Chara were among the players named as Eastern Conference reserves by the NHL today. All three represented the Bruins at last year’s game in Atlanta and now will head to Montreal for the game scheduled for Jan. 25.

Thomas and Savard are headed to their second All-Star Game, while Chara will be competing in his fourth. I’ll have each players’  reaction later today and this evening.

The rest of the East squad reserves are goaltenders Henrik Lundqvist (NY Rangers); forwards Ilya Kovalchuk (Atlanta), Thomas Vanek (Buffalo), Eric Staal (Carolina), Zach Parise (New Jersey), Dany Heatley (Ottawa), Jeff Carter (Philadelphia), Vincent Lecavalier (Tampa Bay) and Alexander Ovechkin (Washington); and defensemen Jay Bouwmeester (Florida), Mark Streit (NY Islanders) and Tomas Kaberle (Toronto).

While there has been no official announcement from the NHL, Bruins head coach Claude Julien will be at the helm for the East.