Boychuk bounced for elbow

BOSTON — Defenseman Johnny Boychuk said he was “kind of” surprised he received a game misconduct as part of his elbowing penalty 7:21 into the third period of the Bruins’ 5-0 win over Calgary today at TD Garden, and he doesn’t think there should be any addition discipline coming from the NHL.

“I don’t think I should be suspended, but we will see what they have to say,” he said.

Boychuk had just been knocked over behind the Boston net when he charged to the corner and caught Calgary’s Rene Bourque with either an elbow or a forearm. The referee ruled it an elbow.

“I just went to finish my check and I saw a couple sticks in the air,” said Boychuk. “And I thought I got my glove in his face, not an elbow.”

Bourque was down on the ice for a couple minutes before skating off under his own power. He returned to the game about seven minutes of action later. The Bruins still completed their shutout even though they were shorthanded on the back end.

Click Here