BOSTON — The Bruins killed off the power play, just as they did the four others Toronto received tonight, but that didn’t mean the “throwing the stick” penalty against Brad Marchand in the first period was any less baffling.

Marchand admitted after Boston’s 2-0 win at TD Garden that he didn’t know there was such a rule. Head coach Claude Julien said he understood the rule but wasn’t too pleased about the interpretation.

“It’s a bit of a tough call because they’re saying if it interferes with the puck, or if it interferes in some fashion with the puck-carrier or the puck, it’s a penalty,” said the coach. “But then, it also states that you’re allowed to push the stick aside or push it somewhere as long as it doesn’t interfere. And I thought he just kind of pushed it maybe five, eight feet so that [Andrew] Ference could pick it up.”

Marchand said he’s going to brush up on the rule book when he gets a chance. Luckily for the Bruins, their penalty kill can seemingly overcome anything.