Norris-worthy Chara leads my list of award winners

Many will get caught up in the drama of Perry and the Ducks’ plight, but for me the Art Ross Trophy winner with 104 points (the only 100-point scorer in the league) was the best player all year on the best team and he should be rewarded. He was also plus-30 on the season and scored just one game-winning goal less than Perry’s 11.

Now for the ones the PHWA does not vote on:

Jack Adams Award

Alain Vigneault, Vancouver

I’m going to be accused of turning The Bruins Blog into The Canucks Blog. Sure, this award usually goes to the coach that turns a team around after a bad season the year before or leads an injury-sacked team higher in the standings than it should go. For doing a lot despite injuries, Pittsburgh’s Dan Bylsma is a popular pick. But consider that the Canucks won the Presidents’ Trophy with a back line that hardly ever had all six of its expected players in uniform. In fact, the Canucks’ defense corps is still pretty beat up. Then you figure in time missed by Alex Burrows and Maholtra up front, and Vigneault obviously had to work some magic to get lesser players to serve as a productive supporting cast in front of the league MVP and one of the league’s best goaltenders.

Vezina Trophy

Tim Thomas, Boston

No one can accuse me of homer-ism with this pick. Thomas led the league in goals-against average (2.00) and also won the save percentage title with a single-season record of .938. He also picked up nine shutouts and was the most dominant puck-stopper in the league from start to finish for a team that finished third in its conference.

Pekka Rinne of Nashville, Carey Price of Montreal, Roberto Luongo in Vancouver and Henrik Lundqvist with the New York Rangers also had great seasons and would have made this vote tighter had Thomas not produced a super-human effort this season.

Click Here

Page 2 of 2 | Previous page